Welcome to ITRoots official website.
Call us: (+2) 050 2728246

Central Bank of Libya

    You are here

The Central Bank of Libya (CBL) is the monetary authority in Libya and enjoys the status of autonomous corporate body. The law establishing the CBL stipulates that the objectives of the central bank shall be to maintain monetary stability in Libya, and to promote the sustained growth of the economy in accordance with the general economic policy of the state.

The headquarters of the Central Bank is in Tripoli. However, to make the CBL services more accessible to commercial banks branches and public departments located far from the headquarters, the CBL has three branches located in Benghazi, Sabha and Sirte.

In March 2011, the governor of CBL, Farhat Bengdara, resigned and defected to the rebelling side of the Libyan Civil War, having first arranged for the bulk of external Libyan assets to be frozen and unavailable to the Gaddafi regime. As of September 2011, the bank's governor is Gasem Azzoz.